Thursday, November 17, 2011

Infosys Prize 2011 to IITK Professor

The Infosys Science Foundation announced yesterday the winners of the Infosys Prize 2011, recognizing outstanding contributions in scientific research across five categories - Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences, Engineering and Computer Science, Life Sciences and Social Sciences- Economics and Political Sciences & International Relations.

Prof. Kalyanmoy Deb, Professor of Mechanical Engineering at IIT Kanpur, has been awarded in the Engineering and Computer Science area. Prof. Deb is a highly decorated scientist and researcher who has received every major honor that a scientist can get in India. This includes Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award too. He had recently received J C Bose Fellowship as well.

He has made extensive contributions to various areas of research: Optimization, Optimal Design, Computer Aided Design, Artificial Intelligence, Genetic Algorithms, and Soft Computing. One of his papers in IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation has received more than 2500 citations.

In the 4 years of its existence (it started with a sole prize for Mathematics in 2008), the Infosys Prize has been awarded to three professors of IIT Kanpur. (None from other IITs.) We also have many IITK alumni amongst the awardees. It is a matter of pride for all of us at IIT Kanpur.

No comments:

Post a Comment